The Hellacopters - Grande Rock

These guys sound like a ratty ol' 69 GTO racing through downtown Detroit. A sound I like to call "Gasoline Rock". Stooges, MC5 ...high energy, gritty with plenty of petrol running in them fuel lines. Friday night rock at it's best!

The first Hellacopters rehearsal took place on November 4th, 1994, as just a jam session. Initially started as a side-project. In early 1998 the band toured Europe supporting Gluecifer, while Dregen left the band to concentrate on his old band, the Backyard Babies, after the tour. With stand-in guitarists Chuck Pounder and Mattias Hellberg, The Hellacopters then played in 114 shows in 18 different countries, including United States, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, and Japan. In September of that year they recorded their 3rd album 'Grande Rock,' featuring Anders Lindström on rhythm guitar.

In February 1999 Robert Dahlqvist was recruited to play guitar, completing the current line-up. With him, the Hellacopters have recorded three more albums to date and they continue to tour worldwide.

Grande Rock is the third album released by the Swedish rock band The Hellacopters.

1. "Action De Grace"
2. "Alright Already Now"
3. "Move Right Out Of Here"
4. "Welcome To Hell"
5. "The Electric Index Eel"
6. "Paul Stanley"
7. "Angel Dust (only on vinyl)"
8. "The Devil Stole The Beat From The Lord"
9. "Dogday Mornings"
10. "Venus In Force"
11. "5 vs. 7"
12. "Lonely"
13. "Renvoyer"


1 comment:

milo said...

Thanks for posting! I have the vinyl, but it's great to have this for "on the go". Saw the Hellacopters at both of their Lee's Palace appearances several years ago....

Great funk postings too; keep it up!