Keith Moon - Two Sides Of the Moon (1975)

Lately I've kind of been interested in Keith Moon's life. Why - I don't know. Maybe it started when I was listening to a classic radio station and "Won't Get Fooled Again" came on. I've herd this song thousands of times, and have become very desensitized over the years with it. BUT...for some reason, I found myself blocking out all the melody, and just focusing on listening to Moon's drumming. Just drums. WOW!...I herd this song in a brand new light. Freakin killer drumming!...try it sometime. Block out everything except the drums. He lives up to his rep as one of greatest rock drummers of all time.

Anyways....here's Moon's only solo record. Not the greatest record by any means to post on MUD, and it doesn't showcase his drumming skills either. But it's worth a spin none the less. After all, It is THEE legendary Keith Moon. Maybe spin this when Mummy comes over for tea.


Two Sides Of the Moon is the only solo album from the original drummer from The Who, Keith Moon. Surprisingly, rather than using the album as a chance to showcase his legendary drumming skill, Moon chose to sing on all the songs. He only drums on "Crazy Like A Fox", "The Kids Are Alright" and "Move Over Ms. L" and plays percussion on "Don't Worry Baby". The album features contributions from Ringo Starr, Harry Nilsson, Joe Walsh, Jim Keltner, Bobby Keys, Klaus Voorman, John Sebastian, Mark Volman & Howard Kaylan of The Turtles, Spencer Davis, Dick Dale and Suzi Quatro's sister Patti Quatro.

Keith Moon was inspired to release a solo album after bandmates John Entwistle and Roger Daltrey both released their own albums. With Pete Townshend soon to write a solo album, Moon decided to make one too. Moon, a big fan of Beach Boys-style surf rock decided to make a cover album, with help from his good friend Ringo Starr. The album was widely considered a joke, with Keith showing his poor singing voice, and received many bad reviews.

Moon was not dissuaded by the reviews, and started work on another similar album. The album was never finished, though. Two Sides of the Moon was re-released by Repertoire Records in 1997, including the finished songs that Moon had made for his next album.

Two Sides... was again re-released by Castle Music and Sanctuary Records in July, 2006, as a two-disc Deluxe Edition, featuring the original 10 songs plus 41 bonus tracks.

Two Sides Of the Moon (original 1975 release)

1. "Crazy Like A Fox" (Staehely)
2. "Solid Gold" (Barclay)
3. "Don't Worry Baby" (Wilson/Christian)
4. "One Night Stand" (Larden)
5. "The Kids Are Alright" (Townshend)
6. "Move Over Ms. L" (Lennon)
7. "Teenage Idol" (Lewis)
8. "Back Door Sally" (Marascalaco)
9. "In My Life" (Lennon/McCartney)
10. "Together" (Nilsson/Moon/Starkey)

Bonus tracks (1997 re-release)

11. "U.S. Radio Spot" (Moon/Starkey)
12. "I Don't Suppose"
13. "Naked Man" (Newman)
14. "Do Me Good" (Cropper)
15. "Real Emotion" (Cropper)
16. "Don't Worry Baby" - U.S. single A-side (Wilson/Christian)
17. "Teenage Idol" - U.S. single B-side (Lewis)
18. "Together 'Rap'" (Nilsson/Moon/Starkey)



Anonymous said...

Thank you

Anonymous said...

Nice blog. I will keep reading. Please take the time to visit my blog about Guitar Lesson

Anonymous said...

41 bonus tracks? that's a lot of bonus tracks. I thought there were only 8...