Iggy Pop & James Williamson - KILL CITY (1977)

One of my favorite post Stooges recordings by Iggy. Very under rated and it recieved lame reviews back in the day. But I dig the sax and dark feeling of this recording. It reminds me of that burnt out basement warehouse vibe. The darker side of rock per say. "Johanna" stands out for me. Enjoy.

Kill City is a 1977 album by former Stooges vocalist Iggy Pop and guitarist James Williamson. Notable is the fact that "Johanna" and "I Got Nothin'" were both recorded previously by the James Williamson-era Stooges. Kill City was originally recorded in 1975 after the disintegration of the group. It was to be used as a demo to give to labels in hopes of getting Pop a new contract. His vocals were recorded on weekends when he received permission to leave a mental hospital he was staying in at the time for treatment of his long-standing heroin addiction. There would be no takes until James Williamson got an advance for Bomp to release the album; some of which was used to remix the original recordings.

Pop later appeared as himself on the infamous Tales from the Crypt TV series and performed the title track.

All tracks written by Iggy Pop and James Williamson; except "Master Charge" by Scott Thurston

1. "Kill City" - 2:20
2. "Sell Your Love" - 3:36
3. "Beyond The Law" - 3:00
4. "I Got Nothin'" - 3:23
5. "Johanna" - 3:03
6. "Night Theme" - 1:20
7. "Night Theme (Reprise)" - 1:04
8. "Consolation Prizes" - 3:17
9. "No Sense Of Crime" - 3:42
10. "Lucky Monkeys" - 3:37
11. "Master Charge" - 4:33

* Iggy Pop - Vocals
* James Williamson - Guitar, Vocals, Producer, Mixing
* Scott Thurston - Bass, Guitar, Harmonica, Keyboards, Sound Effects, Special Effects, Vocals, Vocals (bckgr) on "Kill City", "Night Theme", "Johanna" & "Night Theme"
* Brian Glascock - Percussion, Conga, Drums, Vocals, Vocals (bckgr), Guiro
* John Harden - Saxophone
* Hunt Sales - Drums, Vocals (bckgr) on "Lucky Monkeys" & " Master Charge"
* Tony Sales - Bass, Drums, Vocals (bckgr) on "Lucky Monkeys" & " Master Charge"
* Steve Tranio - Bass on "Sell Your Love", "I Got Nothin'" & "Lucky Monkeys"
* Ganya - Background vocals on "Night Theme" & "Night Theme (Reprise)"


No comments: