Chris Cornell - 2006 - Unplugged in Sweden

Chris Cornell was born July 20, 1964. Best known as the lead singer, guitarist and songwriter of the rock band Soundgarden (1984-1997) and later Audioslave (2001-2007). He began his musical career as a drummer, before moving on to become a singer and guitarist. He also enjoyed acclaim as a solo performer with his first solo album Euphoria Morning (1999). Its follow-up Carry On is set for release in June 2007.

Cornell was born in Seattle, Washington and lived there in his childhood. His Irish Catholic parents are Ed Boyle (a pharmacist) and Karen Cornell (an accountant). Cornell's last name used to be Boyle, but after his parents divorced he and his siblings took his mother's maiden name. He suffered from a severe case of depression during his teenage years, rarely leaving the house. At one point, he spent a whole year without leaving his house, during which time he would play drums and guitar.

"My lifestyle was transformed after many years of drinking a lot, isolating myself a lot and going into long periods of depression

Along with Nirvana, Pearl Jam, and Alice in Chains, Soundgarden became one of the biggest and most successful bands from Seattle's emerging grunge scene in the early 1990s. Cornell became known for the incredible power and range of his voice, and for his dark lyrics often dealing with themes of death and existentialism. Following 1988's Ultramega OK, and 1989's Louder than Love, Soundgarden finally found widespread success in 1991 with the double-platinum album Badmotorfinger.

In late 1994, after touring in support of the album Superunknown, doctors discovered that Cornell had severely strained his vocal cords. Soundgarden cancelled several shows to avoid causing any permanent damage. During this time he collaborated with shock rocker Alice Cooper on Cooper's album The Last Temptation, and together with him wrote the song "Stolen Prayer". Due to tensions within the band, Soundgarden announced it was disbanding on April 9, 1997.

10 All Night Thing.mp3
09 Peace Love and Understanding.mp3
08 Redemption Song.mp3
13 Thank You.mp3
12 Call Me A Dog.mp3
11 Black Hole Sun.mp3
01 Doesn't Remind Me.mp3
07 Original Fire.mp3
06 Billie Jean.mp3
05 Be Yourself.mp3
04 Fell On Black Days.mp3
03 Wide Awake.mp3
02 Like A Stone.mp3


1 comment:

Anonymous said...

thank you!