Mudcrutch (2008)

Mudcrutch is a rock band from Gainesville, Florida best known for being the forerunner of Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers.

Mudcrutch was formed in 1970 after Tom Petty's first band, The Sundowners changed its name to The Epics, which then became Mudcrutch. Mudcrutch's lineup consisted of Petty (bass and vocals), Tom Leadon (guitar and vocals), Randall Marsh (drums) and Mike Campbell (guitar). Leadon left the band in 1972 and was replaced by guitarist/vocalist Danny Roberts. Keyboardist Benmont Tench also joined the band. Much like The Beatles at the Cavern Club in Liverpool, Mudcrutch served as the house band at Dub's Diner in its hometown of Gainesville, Florida.

In 1974, Mudcrutch signed with Shelter Records and re-located to Los Angeles, California. The band released one single, "Depot Street," in 1975, which failed to chart. The band broke up later that year. Petty, Campbell, and Tench went on to form the Heartbreakers in 1976 with fellow Gainesville natives Stan Lynch and Ron Blair.

In August 2007, the original members of Mudcrutch reunited and recorded an album for release in 2008. Mudcrutch was released on April 29, 2008, by Reprise Records, and contains 14 old and new tracks. "We would play and then we would just talk about the old days," says Tom Leadon, who left the band in 1972. The band will embark on a small tour in California to promote the album on April 12.


No comments: