Atlanta Rhythm Section - Atlanta Rhythm Section (1972)

The story of the Atlanta Rhythm Section began in Doraville, GA, a small town northeast of Atlanta, in 1970. Local Atlanta engineer Rodney Mills built a new studio in Doraville with the support of music publisher Bill Lowery, producer/songwriter/manager Buddy Buie, and songwriter/guitarist J.R. Cobb. The studio was dubbed Studio One and would become one of the preeminent studios in the Atlanta area. Over the years, artists who recorded there included Al Kooper, Lynyrd Skynyrd, Joe South, Bonnie Bramlett, Dickey Betts, B.J. Thomas and Billy Joe Royal.

The Atlanta Rhythm Section originally came together as the house band at Studio One. Buie, Cobb and Daughtry had been part of the group the Classics IV - remembered for hits including "Spooky", "Stormy" and "Traces". Buie recruited three musicians he had worked with previously in the Candymen, a group that had backed Roy Orbison, singer Rodney Justo, keyboardist Dean Daughtry and drummer Robert Nix. Two talented local session players also joined in-guitarist Barry Bailey and bassist Paul Goddard. These musicians played on a number of other artists' records and the decision was made to make an album on their own in 1971.

Atlanta Rhythm Section was the debut album of Atlanta Rhythm Section..


No comments: