Robert Plant - Pictures at Eleven (1982)

Robert Plant - Pictures at Eleven
Released June 28, 1982
Recorded Rockfield Studios
Monmouth, Wales

Pictures at Eleven is the debut solo album by former Led Zeppelin singer Robert Plant. Genesis drummer Phil Collins played drums for six of the album's eight songs. Ex-Rainbow drummer Cozy Powell handled drums on "Slow Dancer" and "Like I've Never Been Gone".

Pictures at Eleven is the only one of Plant's solo albums to appear on Led Zeppelin's record label Swan Song. It was overseen by Led Zeppelin's manager Peter Grant and was a vehicle for the band to promote its own products as well as sign artists who found it difficult to win contracts with other major labels. The decision to launch the label came after Led Zeppelin's five year contract with Atlantic Records expired at the end of 1973. Atlantic Records ultimately distributed the label's product.

By the time of Plant's next release, 1983's The Principle of Moments, Swan Song had ceased to function and Plant had started his own label titled Es Paranza, which would also be distributed by Atlantic Records.

Side one

1. "Burning Down One Side" – 3:55
2. "Moonlight in Samosa" – 3:58
3. "Pledge Pin" – 4:01
4. "Slow Dancer" – 7:43

Side two

1. "Worse Than Detroit" – 5:55
2. "Fat Lip" – 5:05
3. "Like I've Never Been Gone" – 5:56
4. "Mystery Title" – 5:16


* Robert Plant - vocals
* Robbie Blunt - guitars
* Jezz Woodroffe - keyboards & synthesizers
* Phil Collins - drums on 1-3, 5-6, 8, 9 & 10
* Cozy Powell - drums on 4 & 7
* Paul Martinez - bass
* Raphael Ravenscroft - saxophone on 3


No comments: